Lincoln Blogs


‘I Do Not Want to Believe in God’
March 7, 2007, 9:40 pm
Filed under: Faith

In the latest edition of Biblical Worldview Magazine, Gary DeMar has an interesting editorial. In it he points out the folly of a quote by Nobel Prize winner George Wald.

[Wald said], “There are only two possible explanations as to how life arose. Spontaneous generation arising to evolution or a supernatural creative act of God…. There is no other possibility. Spontaneous generation was scientifically disproved 120 years ago by Louis Pasteur and others, but that just leaves us with only one other possibility… that life came as a supernatural act of creation by God, but I can’t accept that philosophy because I do not want to believe in a God. Therefore I choose to believe in that which I know is scientifically impossible, spontaneous generation leading to evolution.”If a theologian had argued this way, he would be accused of letting his religious assumptions interpret the facts, But when a scientist follows a similar methodology in defense of evolution, hardly anyone blinks a questioning eye because the declaration is made in the name of science.

I cannot help but laugh at what Socrates would do if he heard someone say, as Wald did, something like, “It is obviously true that God created the world, but I won’t believe it because I don’t feel like believing in God. Instead, I’ll believe the impossible. I will deny truth because I don’t want it to be true.” The great philosopher would probably die a second death after hearing that.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

thanx for the comment,

just doing my part to positively impact the mind of your kid brother.

haha

oops

caleb

Comment by Caleb Roberts

Wald did not say what you say he said.
Those are not his words. It is a falsified quote which DeMar used without checking his source.

Comment by Martha




Leave a Reply

