Lincoln Blogs


Fore! Hidden Fruit
August 13, 2007, 4:22 am
Filed under: Life

Went to the PGA Championship at Southern Hills in Tulsa Saturday today, and had a great time. I was with my grandfather on Saturday, and my dad today. Although the heat was dreadful (the average temperature was 102 degrees), we drank plenty of water and stayed in the shade. (If you’re wondering why there’s a picture of me holding a banana peel, I’ll get to that in a minute.)

We arrived at the golf course at around 7:30 Saturday morning, and stayed until about 4:00. Some of the shots we saw were amazing. Sergio Garcia chipped in from the sand, and the length of some of the drives were incredible. When Tiger Woods finished the eight hole, he walked across a path to the next tee box. The path was roped off, but I was right behind the rope. I could literally see the individual beads of sweat on his face.

On Sunday, we arrived at noon. We walked around watching various players, stopping at several places as they came through. After we saw Woods tee off on the second hole, we headed to a spot were you can see the ninth and eighteenth greens, and the tenth tee. It was a great place to be, as there was constant action. We watched the groups come in at nine, then go back out on ten, as well as players finishing.

When Tiger was at the tenth tee, he ate a banana after his drive. He finished it, then threw the peel a trashcan. Instantly, my dad and I thought one thing: souvenir. After he had left, I went over to the trashcan, which also happened to be behind ropes, and asked the volunteer marshall if I could get something out of the trashcan. “Tiger’s banana, right?”, he said with a smile. I said yes, and he told me I could have it. So, I dug it out, and got a piece of golf history. Tiger was the eventual winner, and I was there by the eighteenth green to watch his final putt.

If anyone happens to know how to preserve a banana peel, please comment fast!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Pickle it?

Comment by Hunter

Hmm….
look what I found- http://www.freepatentsonline.com/6630187.html
Kind of a wack way of doing it, but hey! Its TIGER’S BANNANER!

Comment by David Hill

[…] August 11, 12 – I attended the PGA Championship at Southern Hills in Tulsa with my dad and my grandfather., where I got a priceless souvenir, from the trashcan. […]

Pingback by 2007 Year in Review « Lincoln Blogs




Leave a Reply

