Lincoln Blogs


Hangin’ Half-A-Hundred
September 1, 2007, 5:05 pm
Filed under: Life, OU

Before ball games, former OU head coach Barry Switzer would say, “Let’s hang half-a-hundred on ‘em.” (They usually did.) This evening, I’ll be the one hangin’ half-a-hundred. Games, that is. That’s right; tonight’s game against North Texas will be my 50th consecutive home OU football game, which is the entire Bob Stoops era. OU’s home record in the Stoops era is 47-2. I’ve seen some memorable games at Owen Field.

My first game of the streak (I’ve been to more before Stoops, but not all in row) was September 11, 1999, when I was six years old. The opponent was Indiana State, and I remember wondering why their nickname was a tree. Stoops’ first game was a 49-0 victory, and the fans were pleased, especially after several losing seasons in previous years. OU finished that season with a respectable 7-5 record, and made their first bowl game in a number of years. It was the beginning of a great era.

Moving on to October 28, 2000, game number 10. That day’s opponent was Nebraska. It was my birthday, and we were playing the number one team in the nation. My cousin and grandfather were there, and I was as exited as I’ve ever been. We had beaten Texas 63-14 (I was there) earlier that month, as well as second-ranked Kansas State at their place. The hype leading up to this game was incredible. Kickoff was at 2 p.m., so we arrived in Norman at about 11:30 or noon. I remember pulling into our parking spot in Norman, when I suddenly remembered, “Hey it’s my birthday.” That gives you an idea of how excited I was about the game. A kid on his eighth birthday, and he doesn’t even remember till noon! The stadium was as loud as I’ve ever heard it, even to this day after thousands of seats have been added. We fell behind 14-0 in the first quarter, and then dominated them for the next three. Final score: OU 31, Nebraska 14. The goalposts went down with Nebraska, as OU rose to the top of the national rankings. They also landed on the cover of Sports Illustrated, which I have framed in my room. It was a great day. OU won the national championship that year, with a 13-2 win over Florida State.

I could go on and on about the games I have been to, like wins over Alabama, Oklahoma State, and many others. I’ve seen 77-0 blowouts and double-overtime nail-biters. I’ve sweated through triple digit temperatures, and practically waded in the streets on the way back to the car. I am always hoarse after the games, and sometimes for a few days after. My grandfather has been with me to almost every game, and my dad has been to every game except two with me. I know I am blessed, and am grateful for the opportunity to go to all of these games, which I know very few people have.

I know I’ll have fun tonight when I hang half-a-hundred.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

